top of page
Agricultural Gardens


Our History, Mission, and Team


The HCPOA was established in 2002 to improve property tax assessments' accuracy and help property owners understand their tax assessments and the assessment appeals process. Later, we expanded our community outreach to include broader concerns and issues impacting Hart County.


The HCPOA is a community-oriented service organization. Membership consists of property owners, including lakeside residents, rural land owners, urban dwellers, and agricultural and commercial business owners. Our activities include:


1) active monitoring of the Hart County School System, including issues related to financial management, construction projects, property tax usage, student achievement, and curriculum;

2) active coordination with other community organizations and businesses within the Savannah River Basin in Georgia and South Carolina. Participants include Federal, State, and local government officials from both states. Issues of interest include stabilizing lake levels, environmental concerns, recreation facilities, and economic development;

3) active monitoring of the recent surge in annexations of County land to the City of Hartwell and the impact of developing rural properties with high-density projects; and

4) continue to monitor the Hart County Tax Assessor's Office to ensure that property assessments remain linked to actual sales values and changing market conditions.


The HCPOA also convenes monthly meetings that cover a wide range of topics of interest to the community. Admission is free, and the general public is invited to attend.

Our Mission

To establish a good working relationship with all our elected, hired or appointed officials.

To ensure fair and equitable taxation for all Hart County, Georgia residents.

To promote well educated voters thereby eliminating apathy.

To hold our Hart County Government Officials responsible to their citizens.

Lake Harwell

Apply for Membership

Our Board of Directors and Team

Bill Fogerty_edited.png

Bill Fogerty

​Board Member

Tom Komatz

Lowell Macher_edited.png
Vice President

Lowell Macher

Charles Snipe White_edited.png
​Board Member

Charles (Snip) White

Ann Perry Ayers_edited.png
Board Member

Ann Perry Ayers


Carole Buckel

​Board Member

Mike Buckel

Hart County Board of Commissioners

The board of commissioners of Hart County consists of five members, elected as provided in the Hart County Code of Ordinances. Each candidate for membership on the board is a resident of the district in which he or she represents and is elected by a majority vote.

HCBOC Michael Bennett 2021 (002).jpg
District One

Michael Bennett

Jeff Brown 2022.jpg
District Four

Jeff Brown

District Two

Frankie Teasley

District Five

Joey Dorsey, Vice-Chair

District Three

Marshall Sayer, Chairman

Hartwell City Council

Regular Council meetings are held on the first Monday of each month beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the council chambers of city hall, 456 E. Howell Street, Hartwell.  Work sessions or called meetings are convened on an as-needed basis.

Mayor Pro Tempore

Tray Hicks

Council Member

Stephen "Doc" Ayers

Council Member

Tony Haynie

Council Member

Patrick Guarnella

Council Member

Mike MacNabb

Council Member

Dan Leard

Hart County Board of Education

The Hart County Board of Education consists of five board members, one elected from each district within the county to serve a four-year term. Board members are responsible for creating policies and rules to govern the school system, hiring the superintendent, hiring employees on the superintendent's recommendation, calling elections to authorize a Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST), and buying and selling school property. 

District 3

Kim Pierce, Chair

District 2

Henley Cleary

District 1

Lonnie Robinson, Vice Chair

District 5

Dennis Dowell

District 4

Richard Sutherland

bottom of page